Tangipahoa Professional Women awards $16,000 at scholarship luncheon

IMG_1607The Tangipahoa Professional Women’s Organization (TPW) recently awarded 16 scholarships to deserving women in the community who are currently pursuing college (bachelor’s, master’s, and doctorate) degrees or are set to begin in the fall. The total amount awarded this year was $16,000 and was divided equally among the winners.

TPW received over 30 applications for this year’s scholarship.  With so many well qualified applicants, the scholarship committee followed a rigorous scoring process to determine the final winners. This is the fifth round of awards given by TPW since 2010.

The scholarship winners were feted at a luncheon held in their honor at the Florida Parishes Arena’s Agricultural Events Center in Amite on June 22nd, accompanied by a family member as an invited guest. Mrs. Donna Edwards, First Lady of Louisiana, Glover & Associates Primerica, and Brett K. Duncan, were sponsors of this event.  TPW members were present to help celebrate and encourage the winners to become active in their communities and on their campuses.

The Tangipahoa Professional Women’s Group has been established for over seven years. It has as its mission the role of fostering communication and support of area business and professional women. The organization holds a major Women’s Conference annually and participates in additional fundraising and civic activities throughout the year.  TPW hosts monthly luncheon meetings on the 4th Wednesday of each month.  For more info about TPW go to tangipw.org.

Pictured in the Photo (left to right): Front row – Katie Campbell, Megan Monte, Samantha Messina, April Gaydos, Sara Kron, Taylor Sharkey, and Victoria Grant. Back Row – Miranda Willis, Emily Owens, Marshay McCray, Madison Allen, Ashley McGary, Krista Scafidel. Not Pictured: Jessica Casanova, Crystal Gonzalez, and Rebecca Schnadelbach.