TPW awards $17,000 at scholarship luncheon

Front row – TPW President Christina Cohea, Katie Campbell, Jordyn Neal, Shaunasi James, Emily Carter, April Gaydos, Blair Atkins, Marshay McCray and TPW President Elect Shantel Johnson. Back Row – Kyriel Jones, McKenna Jenkins, Emily Hines, Kaylin Lacoste, Reanecia Autmon and Jordan Colona. Not Pictured: Crystal Gonzalez, Emily Kron, Sarah Kron, Erica Moreno.

The Tangipahoa Professional Women’s Organization (TPW) recently awarded 17 scholarships to deserving women in the community who are currently pursuing college (bachelor’s, master’s, and doctorate) degrees or are set to begin in the fall. The total amount awarded this year was $17,000 and was divided equally among the winners.

TPW received over 30 applications for this year’s scholarship.  With so many well qualified applicants, the scholarship committee followed a rigorous scoring process to determine the final winners. This is the sixth round of awards given by TPW since 2010.

The scholarship winners were feted at a luncheon held in their honor at the Florida Parishes Arena’s Agricultural Events Center in Amite on June 28, accompanied by a family member as an invited guest. Liz Reno representing Primerica sponsored this event.  TPW members were present to help celebrate and encourage the winners to become active in their communities and on their campuses.

The Tangipahoa Professional Women’s Group has been established for over eight years. It has as its mission the role of fostering communication and support of area business and professional women. The organization holds a major Women’s Conference annually and participates in additional fundraising and civic activities throughout the year.  TPW hosts monthly luncheon meetings on the fourth Wednesday of each month.